Duke Ellington - Duke & His Ellingtonians
Artist: Duke Ellington

Category: Jazz

Name: Duke & His Ellingtonians

Size: 1630 mb

Quality: flac, MP3

Duke Ellington - Duke & His Ellingtonians

Label: Disques Vogue ‎– LD. 497-30
Series: 10ᵉ Anniversaire Des Disques Vogue – Vol. 9
Type: Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Mono
Country: France
Date of released: 1962
Category: Jazz
Style: Swing

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Caravan
Written-By – Ellington*, Mills*, Tizol*
A2 Cotton Tail
Written-By – Duke Ellington
A3 Let The Zoomers Drool
Written-By – Ellington*, Hodges*
A4 Cat Walk
Written-By – Anderson*, Ellington*
A5 Make No Mistake
Written-By – Collins*, Davis*
A6 Jumpin' With Symphony Sid
Written-By – Young*
A7 Blues For Blanton
Written-By – Duke Ellington
B1 Things Ain't What They Used To Be
Written-By – Duke Ellington
B2 The Happening
Written-By – Ellington*, Gonzalves*
B3 New Piano Roll Blues
Written-By – Duke Ellington
B4 Who Struk John ?
Written-By – Johnny Hodges
B5 "C" Jam Blues
Written-By – Duke Ellington
B6 Alternate
Written-By – Duke Ellington
B7 A Little Taste
Written-By – Ellington*, Hodges*

Companies, etc.

  • Manufactured By – Manufacture De Productions Phonographiques Vogue
  • Printed By – Dillard et Cie. Imp. Paris
  • Published By – Disques Vogue


  • Alto Saxophone – Johnny Hodges (tracks: A3, B3, B4, B7), Willie Smith (tracks: A1)
  • Baritone Saxophone – Harry Carney (tracks: A3, B3, B7)
  • Bass – Lloyd Trotman (tracks: A7), Wendell Marshall (tracks: A1, A2, B3, B5)
  • Bass, Cello – Oscar Pettiford (tracks: A3, A7, B4, B7)
  • Drums – Jo Jones (tracks: A5), Louie Bellson* (tracks: A1), Max Roach (tracks: B3), Sonny Greer (tracks: A3, B7), Wilbur De Paris (tracks: B4)
  • Guitar – John Collins (tracks: A5)
  • Organ – Bill Davis* (tracks: A5)
  • Organ, Piano – Billy Strayhorn (tracks: A1 to A4, A6, B2, B4 to B7 )
  • Photography By – Jean-Pierre Leloir
  • Piano – Duke Ellington
  • Tenor Saxophone – Al Sears (tracks: A3, B4, B7), Jimmy Hamilton (tracks: A6, B6), Paul Gonzalves* (tracks: A4)
  • Trombone – Juan Tizol (tracks: A1, A6, B6), Lawrence Brown (tracks: B4)
  • Trumpet – Cat Anderson (tracks: A4, B2), Harold Baker (tracks: A3, B7), Red Rodney (tracks: B3), Taft Jordan (tracks: B4)


All tracks were recorded in NYC between 1950-51.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Label & runout Side A): MS 1120-30
  • Matrix / Runout (Label & runout Side B): MS 1121-30
  • Rights Society: BIEM